Cycling Holidays France - Cycle to Villandry

Loire Valley Cycling Holidays Reviews

Guests review our Loire Valley cycling holidays - commenting on the Loire Valley cycling itself, the cuisine, accommation and much much more.

French Cycling Holiday Reviews 2017

“Thank you for being such wonderful hosts.  Loved the Loire cycling routes, the picturesque villages, your amazing food and your comfortable accommodation.  Enjoyed the final cycle ride to the Tasting Room.  Will definintely recommend Loire Life Cycling to our friends”

“I really enjoyed the whole experience.  The biking was great and the food oh my goodness it was “great”, my favourite was the fish.  It was an experience we will never forget.”

Linda & Doug, Victoria, Canada, Sept 2017

“We had a wonderful time cycling here – everything very well organised and we think the hot-tub is great!”

Amanda & Zoe, Boorah, Australia, Sept 2017

“Three and a half days of hilarious and fun biking!  Thanks to Alison for helping plan the next leg of our ride.  The villages are a scene of wonders in this area, I shall miss them”

Cindi & Jim, MA, USA, Sept 2017

“Cycling in the Loire Valley has been a dream come true for me.  Thankyou for making it more than I could hope for.  Have absolutely loved it here!”

Neroli, Hamilton, New Zealand, Sept 2017

“Thanks for a lovely cycling holiday.  Everything was spot on – breakfasts, cycling & accommodation.  Hope to be back”

Paul & Cathy, London, July 2017

“Thank you so much for a fabulous few days at your beautiful place.  We have enjoyed every minute.  You have been so helpful programming the Garmins with the lovely scenic routes to such gorgeous towns.  Great to cycle through sleepy french towns.  The food was all so fresh and amazing.  We will definitely be back.”

Mandy, Heidi, Suzie, Kat, Nicky, Marie (Contessa Cycling Club), Guernsey, June 2017

“Our stay was just what the doctor ordered!  Many thanks for the great rides and the comfortable base in beautiful countryside with fabulous dinners each night to look forward to at the end of our days.”

Matt & Sue, Goondiwindi, Australia, June 2017

“Tres Bien!  Our time at Loire Life Cycling exceeded our expectations – which were already high after reading the positive Trip Advisor reviews.  Thank you Alison for all your assistance.  Breakfast was perfect and our bike trips were so enjoyable.

The advice provided made the cycling easy and we saw so much beautiful countryside, Chateaux and all on the small back roads!  Will come again.  Thank You.”

Sue & Simon, Nina & Tim, Roseville, Sydney, Australia, May 2017.

“Ali was a fabulous host during our 7 day stay.  All of the rooms were great for our stay, providing ample space.

The bike routes were ideal for our group, which ranged from competitive cyclist to beginner.  Needless to say we requested intermediate routes.

For us, the center based approach to cycling was ideal. Having talked with several cyclists that were on tour up and down the Loire, I concluded that center based will be my preference in the future. Also, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality and condition of the bikes.

One of our favorite rides was to a “wine dinner,” at Le Tasting Room, it was well worth every Euro.

We enjoyed the location. The small village nearby, Parcay les Pins was an enjoyable walk each morning. We were pleasantly surprised at the low prices in the Loire, and the limited traffic (i.e. car traffic and tourist traffic in general). The broader area offers much to see, from numerous chateaux to vineyards.”

Sergio & Liz, Illinois, USA, May 2017

French Cycling Holiday Reviews 2016

“Thoroughly enjoyed our time.  Cycling was a superb way to explore the Loire and the routes were well planned.  The food was wonderful and we enjoyed gathering for the evening meals and enjoying the wine and cheeses!  Thank you Alison for a relaxing idyllic holiday.”

Jane & Larry, New Zealand, Sept 2016

“Awesome second visit.  Great routes and lovely guests.  Ali and her family are simply the best hosts.”

Howard & Deb, Canada, Sept 2016

“Fantastic stay – food, wine & company!  All 5 star – better than we could have imagined for our first stay in France.  Thank You so much for a wonderful french cycling experience.”

Bill & Jenny, New Zealand, May 2016

“What fine hosts you are and how well you organised each day’s exciting bike ride.  We saw so many interesting sites cycling along quiet roads.  Returning to the hot-tub and a convivial meal around your table with your fine home cooking, wines and cheeses.  How special it has been!”

Christophe, New Zealand, May 2016

“Just wanted to express our thanks for your expertise and hospitality on our first trip to the Loire Valley.  Your approach to these cycling holidays, thoughtful touches, knowledge and assistance made our time here a highlight of our trip.  Better still it has whet our appetite to return.”

Paul & Nancy, Australia, May 2016

 


 

French Cycling Holiday Reviews 2015

“Wonderful cycling, warm and entertaining hosts, fantastic food and wine!  What more could anyone need to experience a unique rural paradise.  Well done!  Many more will follow our cycle tracks.”

Greg & Margaret, Victoria, Australia, September 2015

“Glorious cycling break!  We had a fantastic time exploring the beautiful countryside.  Lovely routes, great directions and recommendations and prefect hosts anticipating our every need.”

Kathy, MaryAnne, Sharon & Yvonne, London, September 2015

“Thank you for a truly enjoyable cycling holiday at your charming home.  The hospitality was amazing, the breakfast delicious and the surroundings enchanting!  Not to mention the stunning countryside and wonderful sights encountered on our rides”

Catherine, London, September 2015

“What a great week – fabulous cycling, weather, food and of course hospitality.  We have never eaten so much cheese and enjoyed so much good wine!”

Mike, Debbie, Mike and Caroline, August 2015

 

“This has been a real tonic for us, your hospitality is heart warming and the efficiency of your operation is awesome.  We’ve loved it”.

Marion & Bill, New Zealand, June 2015

“A perfectly organised operation.  We really appreciated your hospitality and attentive support for your guests.  Hope to return again!”

Jamie & Janelle, Melbourne, Australia, June 2015

“Thanks for a very enjoyable week on our first cycling holiday in France.  Excellent hosts, great food and great maps.”

Karen & David, Leicester, England, June 2015

“A great week – cycling, food, countryside, sights, instructions, maps and company – Thank You very much”.

Marion & Hugh, Norton, New Zealand, June 2015

“Fields of poopies, shimmering wheat, magical woodlads, sun glimmering through new green leaves, fine old Chateaux and farmhouses, abundant roses bursting across old stone walls, fabulous food, wine and of course wonderful hospitality.  All this and cycling too!  Some moments in life are simply perfect!”

Pam & Chris, Melbourne, Australia, May 2015

“Hospitality lived up to all our expectations.  Weather kind.  Beautiful countryside and cycling.  Thankyou.”

John & Gabrielle, Blenheim, New Zealand, June 2015.


French Cycling Holiday Reviews 2014

“It has been a perfect introduction to cycling, a nice amount of exercise and a splendid way to see such a beautiful part of the world.  The routes have been well organised – with a great balance of freedom and guidance.  You have been wonderful hosts and made us feel at home on holiday”.

Sam & Kate, London (via New Zealand!), July 2014

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!  The bicycling was spectacular and the food superb.”

Cyndie & Monica, New York, USA, June 2014

“An absolutely wonderful stay allowing me at 81 years to cycle in the Loire Valley.  It has been such a treat”.

Jan, New Zealand, June 2014

“A delightful introduction to the French countryside.  You have a relaxed joy about you that spreads to your guests and we only wish we could have stayed the week.”

Eva & Dan, New York, USA, May 2014

“Terrific attention to detail, great location, good bike, interesting routes and genuine and generous hospitality.  You depart having made new friends.”

Tim & Tricia, Victoria, Australia, May 2014

“Thank you for a wonderful four days, we thoroughly enjoyed the lovely cycling you planned for us through the Loire Valley.  A special thanks for the great welcome and hospitality and wonderful food and for all your local knowledge.  All in all a great experience.”

Margaret & Maureen, UK, April 2014

“The service is wonderful and a cycling experience to be repeated”

David & Ros, Blenheim,  New Zealand, April 2014

“Thank you for a fabulous few days.  Your hospitality was magnificent as was your local knowledge in wonderful cycle routes and recommendations for eating places.”

Charles & Pam, Cumbria, UK, April 2014


French Cycling Holiday Reviews 2013

“Varied and well thought out cycling routes that have provided an insight into the Loire Valley.  The accommodation is comfortable and homely, the meals each day have been delicious – the dinners in-particular have capped off the cycling day with warmth and style.  We’ll tell all our friends about this special spot tucked away in the Loire Valley”.

Hana & Ches, Victoria, Australia, September 2013

“Thank you for another excellent week and cycling routes (some of which were new to us).  We’ve thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, your company and that of fellow Australian guests.”

Paul & Hazel, Nottinghamshire, UK, September 2013

“Our introduction to the Loire Valley has been a delight.  Our room was lovely and we had everything we needed – the washing machine was very handy after a long day of cycling.  Thank you for the excellent vegetarian food.  We enjoyed the cycling routes through the countryside and I was grateful there weren’t too many hills to contend with.”

Patrick & Sharon, W.A, Australia, July 2013

“Had such a good time two years ago – we always wanted to come back –and we’ve enjoyed this week too!  The Loire Valley cycling has been great with routes adapted for us to see new sights and a very interesting visit to Le Tasting Room!  Just want to rush home and tell all our cycling friends to come here too.”

Tom & Claire, Gloucestershire, UK, July 2013

“You have created such an amazing week.  Between Gue de Ray, the Loire Valley cycling routes and the friends we made, the memories will last forever”.

Lynn, CA, USA, July 2013

“Wow – my best 60’s birthday ever!  Thank you so much for the awesome bike rides through amazing country!”

Kirk & Barbara, USA, July 2013

“Really enjoyed our Loire Valley cycling week – food, hospitality, local knowledge.  Really excellent, generous hosts.  Thank you.

Hilary & Eddie, London, June 2013

“Thank you for planning such a wonderful Loire Valley cycling holiday for us.  We will encourage more Western Australians to come.”

John & Deb, W.A, Australia, June 2013

“Once again a great week of fantastic Loire Valley cycling.  Please keep the hot-tub warm for our return visit!!”

Gary, Cath & Anthony, Manchester, UK, June 2013

“”We’ve had a great week discovering the local villages and hamlets.  Madame Catherine at Chateau Lathan and Madame Margot at Chateau Gizeux – wonderful characters!  We love the set-up at Gue de Ray, everything just right”

Mark & Pam, NSW, Australia, May 2013

“Thank you for a wonderful, relaxing Loire Valley cycling holiday.  We’ve had some excellent cycling.  Outstanding Loire Chateaux, peaceful landscapes and  barely a car (hooray!).”

Nic, Tamsin, Andy & Ruth, London, April 2013


French Cycling Holiday Reviews 2012

“What a magnificent experience.  Excellent accommodation and hospitality.  Every day seemed to surpass the day before.  We had no idea that we could see so many delights cycling  in the one area, or that the 50 kms covered could be so easily handled.  We can’t wait to tell our friends!”

John & Helen, Tasmania, Sept 2012

“Surpassed our expectations!!  An amazing Loire Valley cycling holiday, wonderful in every respect – we’ll be recommending to our New Zealand friends.”

Jenny & Basil, Marlborough, New Zealand, Sept 2012

“What a fantastic french cycling holiday – wonderful cycling routes, with a wide variety of places to visit – loved the Loire Chateaux and the Troglodyte village!  The quiet french roads, cool forests and peaceful villages were a joy to ride through and a contrast to our normal experiences!  Excellent company, superb wine and food, all made for a wonderful Loire Valley cycling holiday.”

Cath & Derek, Tyldesley, UK, Sept 2012

“Many, many thanks for a first class Loire Valley cycling holiday!  Excellent hospitality, lovely cycling country with well planned routes and places of interest.  It’s whet our appetite for a further visit – once the legs have recovered!”

Hazel & Paul, Nottingham, UK, Sept 2012

“A wonderful Loire Valley cycling holiday.  You did a great job creating routes that allow people to experience a wide variety of things – the visits to the small and large chateaux were magnificent.  We also enjoyed four course dinners filled with great flavours and variety!”

Bob & Jen, Chicago, USA, July 2012

“Awesome experience!  The Loire Valley cycling routes were perfect – one beautiful view and new experience after another.  We’ll recommend this adventure to our American friends.”

Brent & Beth, Greenville, USA, July 2012

“”This was everything we expected from the review in Bike Victoria’s magazine.  Well paced rides each day that increased our fitness.  Most enjoyable and good company and laughs with fellow guests”.

Max & Sonya, Victoria, Australia, June 2012

“A fantastic cycling holiday and we have tremendously enjoyed the Loire Valley cycling – we now have the bug!  Thank you for your brilliant directions and route ideas and for  your hospitality”

The Prowers, UK, June 2012

“What a delightful time we had staying at your lovely home and we loved the ‘family’ atmosphere during breakfast and dinner – the meals were scrumptious!  Thank you again for your generous hospitality.”

Jim & Susan, Florida, USA, May 2012

“This has been a wonderful week and the other participants enhanced the experience.  The dinners were both a great culinary experience and a social occasion!”

Moyra & Trevor, Victoria, Australia, May 2012

“Don’t change a thing – it was all perfect”.

Ron & Jean, Dunblane, Scotland, May 2012

“Our 2nd visit has been every bit as good as the 1st.  Thank you – we really enjoyed your new trip to Le Tasting room – a great week all told”

Ian & Anthea, NSW, Australia, May 2012


French Cycling Holiday Reviews 2011

“These words cannot express how much we have enjoyed this cycling holiday.  It far exceeded our expectations, the scenery was beautiful, the food outstanding and our hosts were the best!  It is sad our time has come to an end but we’ll be back!”

Freda & Craig, Calgary/Deb & Howard, Ontario, Canada, September 2011

“Your house & hospitality are second to none – we thoroughly enjoyed all the cycling routes, all well thought out to cover such a wonderful variety of things to see and countryside to enjoy – it really couldn’t have been better.”

Jackie and David, Swindon, England, September 2011

“Thank you Ali – excellent host!  Comfy accommodation, delicious meals – and the Loire Valley cycling exceeded our expectations!  Keep up the good work and enjoy the peace and clean air of Gue de Ray.”

Jacqueline & Michael, Perth, Australia, September 2011

“We’ve had an amazing week!  This has opened our eyes to a whole new world of holidays.  We have enjoyed seeing the fields of sunflowers, vineyards, chateaux…wine tasting and to top it all off seeing Le Tour de France yesterday is something we will always remember!”

Dan & Alex, Devon, UK, July 2011

“Had a great week!  Our first cycling holiday – definitely not the last.  Going home to buy new and better bikes!  Loved it here and really enjoyed all the cycle routes – torn between clocking up the Kms and seeing all the wonderful sights.”

Tom & Claire, Gloucestershire, UK, July 2011

“Came back for more again this year.  Very pleased we did, again excellent on all fronts.  Some new routes and first class bikes.  New stop for Thursday lunch excellent value for money and only a short trip back home!”

Cath & Alwyn, Llansawnan, Wales, July 2011

“Fantastic week!  Have cycled many more kilometres than I thought I would and I have a real sense of achievement!”  Recommendations:  Musee Jules Desbois in Parcay les Pins, L’Amuse Bouche restaurant ‘menu du jour’ in Souzay and the woodland route down to Langeais!”

Alan & Meriel, Co Dublin, Ireland, July 2011

“Thank you, great food, great company and great Loire Valley cycling.  The hosts aren’t bad either!!!  Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.”

Ron & Jacqui, Lincolnshire, UK, June 2011

“A very enjoyable week.  Great food, hosts, scenery and sights.  Varied itineraries – hard on the bum, good for the psyche!”

John & Martine, Victoria, Australia, June 2011

“For newcomers, perhaps reading our comments at the start of the week….you are in for some real treats.  There are the fabulous meals, much laughter and great wine!  We wish you all the best – keep up this great endeavour!”

Margaret & Terry, Jalisco, Mexico, May 2011

“We came for three days and ended up staying for a full week – that says it all!  We will be delighted to recommend you to our friends and we will look forward to another visit.”

Ken & Marianne, Kingston, Canada, May 2011

“Just a brief note to say thanks for a lovely stay in May.  The cycling was wonderful, and your accommodation is “to die for”.  I could have sat, drunk wine and looked across the fields for ever.  As long as you were cooking for me, Alison.  Thank you so much for introducing me to Langeais –  I have how become interested in Anne of Brittany and her two French kings!  No doubt I will be back.

Maura, Hobart, Australia, May 2011

“The Loire Valley cycling has been great – fields, forests, almost ghost towns, busy centres and Loire chateaux – what more could you add to make a holiday complete – food, company, quality accommodation – you managed it all.”

Suz, Tasmania, Australia, May 2011

“Thank you for a marvellous week, you have been great hosts”

Frances & Alex, Surrey, UK, May 2011

“Thank you for your splendid hospitality and seamless efficiency on all aspects of our stay.  The week has gone far too quickly!”

Brian & Priscilla, NSW, Australia, May 2011

“Terrific maps!  Wonderful hospitality and we love that hot tub!! Thank you for your warmth and expertise!”

Charles & Carole, Hawaii, USA, June 2011


French Cycling Holiday Reviews 2010

“Thank you for taking the time and care in showing me this beautiful part of the world.  I so enjoyed the cycle trips!”

Debbie, Calgary, Canada, September 2010

“Thank you for such a wonderful, fulfilled, interesting break in our European holiday.  Your house is beautiful as is the scenery, the food and the wonderful chateaux.  You are both great hosts and we enjoyed your company very much!”

Lynne & John, Melbourne, Australia, September 2010

“Thanks for the most perfect holiday imaginable.  The beautiful setting, immaculate house, delicious meals, clear instructions, varied bike rides and the hot tub.”

Barry, Stephanie, Alison & Anthony, England, September 2010

“Thank you for a great week, we’ve had a wonderful holiday!”

Michael & Jenny, Auckland, New Zealand

“Our first experience of cycling abroad – and this six months after starting to cycle in North Wales – and it turned out TRUMPS!”

Cath & Alwyn, Wales, June 2010

“We have had the most wonderful Loire Valley cycling holiday.  You made us feel so relaxed and welcome in your beautiful home.  The routes are so well organised and planned, each day something new.  The restaurant was a surprise, wonderful lunch.  We thoroughly enjoyed our evenings chatting and laughing over fantastic food and great wine.  We felt that we have been sharing a holiday with good friends rather than host and hostess.  Looking forward to see you in the near future.”

Angela, Mick, Linda & George, Kent,  May 2010

“What a superb week.  Wonderful company, great rides, marvellous weather and fantastic hosts, oh and the food was great too!  We have had a very relaxing stay and have seen that there is so much more to La Loire!  Jon & Alison have a great idea here, the rides are varied on lovely quiet relaxing roads and each day is different.  We thought the Chateau at Langeais and the gardens at Villandry were stunning.  P.S.  That pool is great and what a super end to the day!”

Adrian and Mary, Coventry, May 2010

“Thank you for a wonderful week of Loire Valley cycling.  Lovely scenery and a varied ride each day of the week.  We look forward to the recipe book later in the year as we did enjoy all the delicious meals you prepared.”

Joyce & David, Victoria, Australia, May 2010


French Cycling Holiday Reviews 2009

“…we have enjoyed the Loire Valley cycling – especially the routes through the forests. You have been excellent hosts and gone the extra mile to ensure we had everything we needed. Tim says he thinks he is going home fitter and fatter (down to your excellent meals!).

Suzie & Tim, Bradford, UK, September 2009

“…we found the Loire Valley cycling routes wonderful – the colours were magic. A lot of thought had obviously been put into the choice of routes enabling modification if necessary for the older & less expert cyclists.”

John & Janet, Cornwall, UK, September 2009

“…This was a wedding anniversary gift to my husband…I will treasure the memories, it has been wonderfully relaxing. The Loire Valley cycling has been fantastic – the easy to follow instructions taking us through picturesque and unspoilt french countryside and towns.”

“…with a delicious meal to look forward to at the end of each day.  Jon & Ali have been great hosts, very thoughtful and also good company too. We are already planning a return visit avec mes amis!”

Janet & Liam, Brighton, UK, September 2009

“This trip has far exceeded my expectations. I have loved it all. I loved the friendly french, the wind whistling through the corn fields, and , my oh my, what meals we had! Such great conversation. Thanks for the very personal touches.”

“Thank you so much for an incredible week. You are the ultimate host, gracious, funny, helpful and accommodating, always above and beyond our expectations. Your directions were great, scenery amazing and every evening it has been a treat to enjoy a new gastronomic delight!”

“I have been truly amazed at just how wonderful France is; it’s been such a pleasure to be guests in your lovely home… Your biking has been great…directions were so helpful! Bless you! The food was so great! An amazing experience all around!”

Donna, Terri & Patty, Calgary, Canada, September 2009

“Fabulous biking in a really interesting part of France. Loved the meals and the hot tub after biking”

Ken & Rosalie, Sacramento, USA, September 2009

“Thanks for all the lovely rides you organised and the great places to eat and to visit. A very special week.”

“Thanks for  great Loire Valley cycling – well thought out for picking us up on a very wet day and adding in an extra visit to a winery”

Margaret & Roger, Queensland, Australia, September 2009

“Had a great holiday, enjoyed the biking and beautiful sceneries. Come and visit beautiful BC sometime! Thank you for everything”

Berthe, British Columbia, Canada, September 2009

“It’s been a most wonderful adventure. The meals and presentation were exceptionally well done and delicious. The cycle routes were very well planned.”

Juliette, Alberta, Canada, September 2009

“We have had the best time!  Your home is beautiful and we will definitely miss your fantastic meals.  We will never forget the week we’ve had here”

Melissa & Liam, Auckland, New Zealand, May 2009

“What a paradise!  The tranquil location, the stunning surrounding woods and sleepy villages, the picture-postcard views (a highlight was the delightful ride to Langeais and Villandry) and gracious hospitality every evening Ali and her family.  This truly has felt like home!”

Tony & Mary, Queensland, Australia, June 2009

“A week away from reality with superb cycling and exemplary hospitality. The Loire Valley cycling routes have given us a real flavour of the area, while also leaving us feeling there’s much more to discover.  Would we return?  In a heartbeat!”

Sara & Steve, Gateshead, UK, June 2009

 And finally, Lou & John – our first ever guests – thanks for putting your faith in us!

“It has been a delightful experience – one of those remarkable holidays we will remember for a long time.  We felt as though we were staying with good friends rather than being paying customers.  Gue de Ray proved to be a home away from home – the facilities were first class – in short, we thought we’d died and gone to heaven!”

Lou & John, Brisbane, Australia, May 2009